She Memes Well

From comedian Quinta Brunson comes a deeply personal and funny collection of essays featuring anecdotes about trying to make it when you're broke, overcoming self-doubt and depression, and how she's used humor to navigate her career in ...

She Memes Well

She Memes Well

From comedian Quinta Brunson comes a deeply personal and funny collection of essays featuring anecdotes about trying to make it when you're broke, overcoming self-doubt and depression, and how she's used humor to navigate her career in unusual directions. Quinta Brunson is a master of viral Internet content: without any traditional background in media, her humorous videos were the first to break through on Instagram's platform, receiving millions of views. From there, Brunson's wryly observant POV attracted the attention of BuzzFeed's motion picture development department, leading her to produce viral videos there about topics like interracial dating, millennial malaise, and seeing your ex in public. Now, Brunson is bringing her comedic chops to the page in She Memes Well, an earnest, laugh-out-loud collection about her weird road to Internet notoriety. In her debut essay collection, Quinta applies her trademark humor and heart to discuss what it was like to go from student loan debt-broke to "halfway recognizable--'don't I know you somewhere?'" level-of-fame. With anecdotes that range from the funny and zany--like her experience trying to find her signature hairstyle--to more grounded material about living with depression, Brunson's voice is entirely authentic and eminently readable. Perfect for fans of Phoebe Robinson's You Can't Touch My Hair, Samantha Irby's We Are Never Meeting in Real Life, and Issa Rae's The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl, She Memes Well will charm and entertain a growing, engaged audience.

More Books:

She Memes Well
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Quinta Brunson
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021 - Publisher: Mariner Books

From comedian Quinta Brunson comes a deeply personal and funny collection of essays featuring anecdotes about trying to make it when you're broke, overcoming self-doubt and depression, and how she's used humor to navigate her career in unusual directions. Quinta Brunson is a master of viral Internet content: without any
She Memes Well
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Quinta Brunson
Categories: Humor
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-15 - Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

“In She Memes Well, Quinta gives more than a peek behind the curtain. She invites us in, lets us poke around and offers a balm for our aching souls. She moves beyond the jokes into something much deeper, something we may not recognize we need. She is the friend, sister,
Memes in Digital Culture
Language: en
Pages: 200
Authors: Limor Shifman
Categories: Computers
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014 - Publisher: MIT Press

Taking “Gangnam Style” seriously: what Internet memes can tell us about digital culture. In December 2012, the exuberant video “Gangnam Style” became the first YouTube clip to be viewed more than one billion times. Thousands of its viewers responded by creating and posting their own variations of the video—“Mitt Romney
Without Saying A Word
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Bob D. Smith
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-05-15 - Publisher: Page Publishing Inc

Book Delisted
The Poems of William Cowper. Edited by the Rev. J. S. Memes. [With Plates, Including a Portrait.]
Language: en
Pages: 607
Authors: William Cowper
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1853 - Publisher:

Books about The Poems of William Cowper. Edited by the Rev. J. S. Memes. [With Plates, Including a Portrait.]

Popular All Time

Vanderbilt
Countdown bin Laden
Our Man in Charleston
Orderly and Humane
Escape from Sobibor
Reconstruction after the Civil War
The Ruling Class
Killing the Mob
The Last Viking
Women in White Coats
Travels with George
Empire of the Summer Moon
The Afghanistan Papers
The Last Duel
The Splendid and the Vile
The Sisters of Auschwitz
1491 (Second Edition)
First Casualty

Recent Books: